Educator Working Group

The MCSC Educator Working Group was born from what were previously known as the Education & Training Committee and the College Working Group.

In 2017, the University College of the North, Red River College, Assiniboine Community College, Manitoba Institute of Trades and Technology, Manitoba Education and Training, Apprenticeship, The American Concrete Institute, Construction Safety Association of Manitoba, and River East Transcona School Division came together to look at ways educational institutions will work together to open all doors and ladder students into careers in construction.

Their goals are about breaking down barriers and working together to find creative solutions to address challenges facing underrepresented groups (i.e. youth at risk, Indigenous students, women, immigrants). The MCSC Educator Working Group is passionate and determined to make a difference.

2017 - present


Carol Paul, MCSC (Centre)


Back Row (Left – Right):

Mike Watson (Red River College), John Leptag (Concrete Association of Manitoba), Joanne Shay (Red River College), Bruce Bishop (Red River College), Ross Jardine (CSAM), Guy Champagne (Apprenticeship Manitoba), Monika Idzikowski (Manitoba Education and Training), Shirley Thomson (University of Manitoba)

Front Row (Left – Right):

Jackie Hope (Province of Manitoba), Debra Wetke (Red River College), Carol Paul (MCSC), Nadine Ogborn (MITT), Kim Poirier (Manitoba Education and Training), Cat Westlake (River East Transcona School Division)

2015 - 2016

Front Row (left to right)

Jackie Jones, Manitoba Heavy Construction Association La Donna Ogungbemi-Jackson, MCSC Carol Paul, MCSC
Liz Sousa, Northern Manitoba Sector Council Karen Roe, Construction Association of Rural Manitoba Tannis James, Assiniboine Community College

Back Row (left to right)

Adam Nychuk, Construction Safety Association of Manitoba Jackie Hope, Province of Manitoba Bev Stuart, Manitoba Institute of Trades & Technology
Don Hurst, Manitoba Heavy Construction Association Sam Levy, Red River College Mike Moore, Manitoba Homebuilders’ Association

2016 - 2017

Front Row (left to right)

Phil McDaniel, Manitoba Heavy Construction Sector Peggy Zurkan, Winnipeg Construction Sector Council Dann Blair, BITSpace Development
Natasha Farren, Flynn Companies/ CARM Liz Sousa, Northern Manitoba Sector Council Lori Royal, Skills Canada
Jonathan Bauer, Manitoba Start Carol Paul, MCSC Lanny McInnes, Manitoba Homebuilders’’ Association

Back Row (left to right)

La Donna Ogungbemi-Jackson, MCSC Muriel Torchia Shylak, MG Electrical/ Mechanical Services Bev Stuart, Manitoba Institute of Trades & Technology
Jackie Hope, Province of Manitoba Jennifer Daniels, Skills Canada